It’s California’s Distracted Driving Awareness Month and police all over California are paying extra attention to drivers.
The Redding Police Department is no exception. In just one day, the Redding police issued 37 tickets to people talking on their phone.
Police said talking on the phone or texting can be so distracting that it can delay a driver's reaction the same way alcohol can. They also said drivers who use cellphones while driving are four times more likely to get into a serious crash than someone who does not use their cell phones while driving.
“When a person’s on the phone they are completely distracted and their mind is in another realm," said Sergeant Casey Bokavich.
The fine for first time texting or use of a hand-held cell phone is $159. The second time you get caught, that fine goes up to $279.